Tea Party Patriots Ordinary citizens reclaiming America's founding principles.

Friday, December 30, 2011

Obamacare for the Internet: Stop SOPA NOW!

Obamacare for the Internet!

SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and its Senate cousin (PROTECT IP) are government solutions in search of a problem. Created under the false flag of piracy protection, this bill allows unelected bureaucrat US Attorney General (Eric Holder) to close down without due process, any site listed in a complaint. SOPA grants the federal government the right to restrict search engine results, freeze merchant accounts and force your internet provider to block any site branded in violation of SOPA. An unelected bureaucrat will decide which sites qualify.

What does this mean for you? Under SOPA, if a single complaint is filed against YouTube alleging pirated materiel, the entire website can be shut down while the claim is investigated. If a single complaint is registered against Google claiming they link to pirated materiel in search results, the entire site can be shut down during the investigation. If a single complaint is logged against Amazon.com claiming pirated goods are being sold, the entire site can be shut down and their online payment service frozen!

 Who thought this was a good idea? SOPA is sponsored by Representative Lamar Smith, A Republican from Texas who has been in Congress for over 25 years. His biggest campaign donors are from the TV/Movie industry, giving him over $50,000 a year for at least the past 10 years. SOPA also has 31 co-sponsors and is currently moving through the House Judiciary Committee (chaired by Lamar Smith). Outside Washington D.C., bloggers and experts across the political spectrum have warned against this legislation. SOPA is sponsored by a Republican, PROTECT IP is sponsored by a Democrat. It’s becoming clear that this battle is not about partisan politics or liberal vs. conservatives. This is the Washington elite, using overblown piracy fears to control our internet.

What can you do?
Contact your congressman and let them know SOPA (H.R. 3261) has no place in America. This is not a bill that can be amended into something acceptable, it must die completely.

Contact members of the Judiciary Committee specifically and urge them to defeat SOPA by any means necessary.

If you or someone you know lives in Wisconsin, North Carolina, California, Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, Florida, Arizona, Texas, Nevada, Iowa, Utah, Arkansas, Pennsylvania or South Carolina, please forward this alert to them. These states have congressional members on the Judiciary Committee, see below for the complete list.

Judiciary Committee

GOP Members

Lamar Smith (R-TX) [Chairman]
D.C. PH#: 202-225-4236
D.C. FX#: 202-225-8628
D.C. PH#: 202-225-5101
D.C. FX#: 202-225-3190
DC PH#: 202-225-3065
DC FX#: 202-225-8611
DC PH#: 202-225-5811
DC FX#: 202-225-1100
DC PH#: 202-225-5431
DC FX#: 202-225-9681 
DC PH#: 202-225-5716
DC FX#: 202-226-1298
DC PH#: 202-225-2216 
DC FX#: 202-225-3012
DC PH#: 202-225-3906 
DC FX: 202-225-3303
DC PH#: 202-225-3021
DC FX#: 202-225-3382 
DC PH#: 202-225-6365
DC FX#: 202-226-1170
DC PH#: 202-225-4426
DC FX#: 202-225-3193
DC PH#: 202-225-4576
DC FX#: 202-225-6328
DC PH#: 202-225-3035
DC FX#: 202-226-1230 
DC PH#: 202-225-2676
DC Fax#: 202-226-0577
DC PH#: 202-225-6565
DC FX#: 202-225-5547
DC PH#: 202-225-7751 
DC FX: 202-225-5629
DC PH#: 202-225-2506
DC FX#: 202-225-5903 
Email: https://griffin.house.gov/contact-me/email-me 

Tom Marino (R-PA) 
DC PH#: 202-225-3731
DC FX#: 202-225-9594
Email: https://marino.house.gov/contact-me/email-me 

Trey Gowdy (R-SC) 
DC PH#: 202-225-6030
DC FX#: 202-226-1177
Email: http://gowdy.house.gov/Contact/ 

Dennis Ross (R-FL) 
DC PH#: 202-225-1252 
DC FX#: 202-226-0585
Email: https://dennisross.house.gov/Contact/ 

Sandy Adams (R-FL) 
DC PH#: 202-225-2706
DC FX#: 202-226-6299
Email: http://adams.house.gov/Contact/ 

Ben Quayle (R-AZ)
DC PH#: 202-225-3361
DC FX#: 202-225-3462 
Email: http://quayle.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=58§io … 

Mark Amodei (R-NV) 
DC PH#: 202-225-6155
DC FX#: 202-225-5679
Email: https://amodei.house.gov/contact- 

Democrat Members

John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI) [Ranking Minority Member]
DC PH#: 202-225-5126
DC FX#: 202-225-0072
DC PH#: 202-225-4695 
DC FX#: 202-225-3196 
DC PH#: 202-225-5635
DC FX#: 202-225-6923
DC PH#: 202-225-8351
DC FX#: 202-225-8354
DC PH#: 202-225-1510
DC FX#: 202-225-1512
DC PH#: 202-225-3072
DC FX#: 202-225-3336
DC PH#: 202-225-3816
DC FX#: 202-225-3317
DC PH#: 202-225-2201
DC FX#: 202-225-7854
DC PH#: 202-225-3265
DC FX#: 202-225-5663
Email: https://cohenforms.house.gov/Forms/WriteYourRep/ 

Hank Johnson (D-GA)
DC PH#: 202-225-1605
DC FX#: 202-226-0691
Email: https://hankjohnsonforms.house.gov/contact-form.shtml 

Pedro Pierluisi (D-PR)
DC PH#: 202-225-2615
DC FX#: 202-225-2154
Email: http://pierluisi.house.gov/english/contact-us.html 

Mike Quigley (D-IL)
DC PH#: 202-225-4061
DC FX#: 202-225-5603
Email: https://forms.house.gov/quigley/contact-form.shtml 

Judy Chu (D-CA)
DC PH#: 202-225-5464
DC FX#: 202-225-5467
Email: https://forms.house.gov/chu/contact-form.shtml 

Ted Deutch (D-FL)
DC PH#: 202-225-3001
DC FX#: 202-225-5974
Email: https://deutchforms.house.gov/Forms/WriteYourRep/defa … 

Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
DC PH#: 202-225-6676
DC FX#: 202-226-1012
Email: https://forms.house.gov/lindasanchez/webforms/issue_s … 

Jared Polis (D-CO)
DC PH#: 202-225-2161
DC FX#: 202-226-7840
Email: https://polisforms.house.gov/Forms/WriteYourRep/defau … 

Monday, December 19, 2011

Newt Gingrich Wins Tea Party Patriots Straw Poll

More the 23,000 people participated in the Tea Party Patriots Presidential Tele-Forum and Tea Party Straw Poll last night. Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich, Michele Bachmann and Rick Santorum were on the call last night to answer questions that were submitted by local Tea Party leaders.

The results of the straw poll taken from the more than 23,000 participants on the call are as follows;

Newt Gingrich 31%
Michele Bachmann 28%
Mitt Romney 20%
Rick Santorum 16%
Ron Paul 3%
Rick Perry 2%
Jon Huntsman 0%
(Results are rounded to nearest percentage point. Margin of error +/-1.59%)

(Interpretation: The following question was posed to the listeners for each candidate with 1 being Not Enthusiastic and 5 being Extremely Enthusiastic. “On a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest, how enthusiastic would you be if were the nominee?” This chart shows how enthusiastic the participants would be in the event that each candidate were the nominee.)

Check the TPP website later this week for audio clips of all of the candidates and speakers

Special Thanks to:

Emery McClendon, TPP Local Coordinator, Fort Wayne, IN
Julianne Thompson, TPP Local Coordinator, Atlanta, GA
Herman Cain, Businessman / Former GOP Presidential Candidate
Steve King, Congressman from Iowa

Thank you to all of the candidates & callers who were able to participate!